Flash Bristow (techiebabe) wrote,
Flash Bristow
techiebabe

Looking for a part time PA (personal care etc) in east London

My PA gave her notice today, after a year working with me. So Im recruiting again. Word of mouth seems to work best - anyone interested or know someone who might be?

Main duties: housekeeping / cleaning / gardening, helping me prep food, liaising with my GP & pharmacy to ensure I dont run out of medicines, being around when I shower in case I fall, bringing me prescription milkshakes in bed, running local errands, occasionally pushing me in my wheelchair outside the house, etc. To be honest housework comprises the bulk of the duties but this is more than just a cleaning job as the whole lot are important to my health and independence.

Important: reliability, timekeeping, confidentiality, openness and honesty, willingness to support me and improve my life. Flexibility, legible handwriting and unflappability a bonus. No work experience necessary.

Applicants need to understand the difference between the medical and social models of disability; this is a PA role and NOT a "carer" role.

9 hours a week, based at my home in E11, £9/ hour. (Wish I could pay more, but it is council funded.) Prefer the hours to be spread over 2 or 3 afternoons, but am fairly flexible. Weekdays only. Ideally start end September with handover period from my current PA. Extra hours are sometimes available by mutual agreement.

Applicants must identify as female due to the personal care aspects. I am LGBT friendly and open minded, but need my PA to be so too! Happy to employ a disabled person if they are able to manage the role. Applicants must be aged 18 or over.

Only other note - I have a large, friendly, gentle dog. Applicants must be comfortable and confident around dogs, willing to be alone with him at times, and to use the correct commands with him as instructed. In return he is a lovely and cute companion in the workplace.

Please do pass this info to anyone who might be interested, or get in touch privately if you fancy it. I will of course respect your privacy too.

I'll update my application pack as soon as I'm able (this week) so you can register to show interest for that with no commitment.

Thanks for any interest or help to spread the word! This post is public and may be shared.
  • Post a new comment

    Error

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

  • 0 comments